top of page
Image by Fares Nimri

The term “Aadi” means "first" or "first god in hindu religion”(Sanskrit) .In Hindu religion its similar for shiva Mahadeva, or Maheshvara, and beyond these mental concepts, the Supreme Reality as the originator of all things.
The “Nath” means "God, protector, grand master" (Sanskrit).The related Sanskrit term Aadi Nath means first or original God, and is a synonym for Shiva, the founder of the Nath..
In Sanskrit  “Sampraday” means spiritual lineage or a spiritual believers community. 
Sampradayas are living traditions of both teaching and practice within a specific religious-spiritual tradition. They are generally composed of a monastic order within a specific guru lineage, with ideas developed and transmitted, redefined and reviewed by each successive generation of followers.

What is Aadinath Sampraday?

The great yogi Goraksh Natha formed the Nath yogi order and spread his teachings through 12 Panth. The 9 Naths are the main yogis of the nath panth and the foundation of the Aadinath Sampradaya. Yogis do not make a distinction between Shiv and Gorakh. They merely practise was for humanity, not any particular religion. This demonstrates that there is no distinction based on religion, caste, or any  classifications.This clarifies a deep faith amongist  people and their inherent goodness throughout life. The nine Naths tradition, which today's Nath Sampradya can trace its roots to,into other early Siddhas than it does with earlier Naths .The Siddhas were semi-divine people who had mastered yoga, alchemy (rasayana), and other occult practises in order to become flawless (siddha). 

The First Nath, known as Iva (Shiva), as one of  the first Nine Naths. The majority of the Natha Sampraday has always been there as , but in recent decades, this component of their identity has received more attention. One of the fundamental deities in Hinduism is Shiva (iva, meaning "The Auspicious One"), also known as Mahadeva (or "Great God"). He belongs to the ADINATH, one of the three most important religions of Hinduism in modern times. He is one of the five manifestations of God known as "the Transformer" or "a Destroyer" in the trimurti, the Hindu Trinity that represents the fundamental elements of the divine faith. Shiva is viewed as being infinite, transcendent, unchanging, and formless because he is the supreme deity. Shiva can take both scary and kind forms toward humanity.He is portrayed in beneficent aspects as an omniscient yogi who leads an ascetic existence on Kailash. (Kailash Mount)


Gorakhnāth nowadays is often identified with Śhiva, supplanting Aadinath. The traditional Aiva rudraksh seed necklaces and tripura ash are not supported by the mediaeval miniatures, and the ritual forehead marks used a different alchemy of saffron etc.That is used with Today,Shiva is frequently used to refer to Gorakhnath, replacing  "OM SHIV GORKSHANATH," a prominent Hindu Nath mantra”.


There are twelve Panths, or streams, within the Nath Sampradaya. These panths were a conglomeration of distinct organisations descending from either Matsyendranath, Gorakshanath, or one of their pupils rather than a division of a single monolithic order. There have always been a lot more Natha sects than can easily fit into the twelve official panths,  They congregate in specific locations on a regular basis, especially during festivals like Navratri, Maha Shivaratri, and Kumbh Mela. Living in caves, Nath yogis practised yoga and lived their ideals. The Nath yogi, with the exception of a handful, decided to leave the village. 

As the Sadhus (celibate monks) and other married householders (family) lay people make up one of the two branches of the Nath tradition.The resembling  an endogamous caste and are far more numerous than monks. In both Nepal and India, Nath sadhus and (family) householders can be found, but they are more prevalent in some Indian states.The Barah(12)  Panthi Yogi,  founded by the ascetics,  some holy towns. Along with a much larger householder (family)  Nath tradition, the Nath ascetic order has many ascetics (mainly men) who are dispersed in numerous monasteries throughout India, primarily in the North and West. The oldest Nath monastery still in operation is in the Karnataka region, close to Mangalore. Shaiva iconography and three 10th-century Buddhist bronze sculptures are both kept in the monastery.

God Adinath Shivshankar

lord shiva, #lord shankar
aadinath sampraday sadhu

The monks were distinguished by the fact that the majority of them were nomads. never remaining in one spot for an extended period of time; moving between monasteries. Many people formed a floating community of wanderers where they shared thoughts, attended festivals together, and developed a sense of identity and divinity.Many people who were seeking spiritual enlightenment travelled across India over very great distances walked for several months, stopping at various holy places and monasteries.

The only clothing the Nath monks wore was loincloths and dhotis. Additionally, they frequently knotted their hair up in dreadlocks, covered themselves in ashes or Bhasm, and kept a sacred fire known as Dhuni. The application of Bhasma or Ash for these ritual treatments, as well as coating the body with it, was uncommon among (family). Both Nath monks and commoners wear a woollen thread around their necks that is embellished with a little horn (Shankh), a Rudraksha bead, and  It's known as Janeu. The little horn (Shankh), which is blown at particular festivals and rituals and then followed by food consumption, is significant to their religious practices. Numerous Nath monks and a few common people also sport prominent wearing of Kundal earrings.

Nath Monks


Guru Gorakshanath

What is Definition Aadinath Sampraday?

bottom of page